Congohounds
2017 - New compound for the Congohounds - Donation of CHF 15,000

The Virunga National Park is repeatedly affected by poaching, and the park’s rangers put their lives on the line to protect the animals living there. The park’s residents not only include gorillas, but also forest elephants and many smaller animals that are easily overlooked.

Dr. Marlene Zähner of Switzerland introduced bloodhounds and springer spaniels to Virunga National Park in 2011 at the request of Emmanuel de Merode, Director of Virunga National Park, after the use of detection dogs in combating poaching had already proven effective in other African parks.

Keeping and caring for dogs in eastern Congo is a huge challenge. The canine unit’s reputation has grown so outstanding over the past few years that there is now a waiting list of rangers eager to work with dogs. The dogs require a new compound in order to keep them fit and healthy. It is thanks to donations from the SwissAfrican Foundation that this was finally built.

The 'Congohounds' project is managed and supervised by the DodoBahati Foundation under the guidance of Dr. med. vet. Marlene Zähner.

The new compound for the dogs at Rumangabo is completed, see image below, and since its completion the dogs' health has increased substantially. A feedback that makes us very happy!

Congohounds
2017 - Neue Schutzanlage für die Congohounds - Zuwendung von CHF 15'000

Der Virunga Nationalpark ist immer wieder von Wilderei betroffen und die Ranger des Parks setzen ihr Leben für den Schutz der Tiere ein. Dazu gehören nicht nur die Gorillas, sondern auch Waldelefanten und die vielen kleineren Tiere, die gerne vergessen gehen.

Auf Anfrage des Direktors des Virunga Nationalparks, Emmanuel de Merode, hat die Schweizerin Dr. Marlene Zähner im 2011 damit begonnen, Bluthunde und Springer Spaniels in den Virunga Nationalpark zu bringen und dort für den Einsatz gegen die Wilderei einzusetzen. Der Einsatz von Spürhunden gegen Wilderer wurde bereits erfolgreich in anderen Afrikanischen Parks getestet.

Die Haltung und Betreuung von Hunden im Ostkongo ist eine grosse Herausforderung. Über die letzten Jahre wurde der Ruf der Hundestaffel aber so hervorragend, dass heute eine Warteliste von Rangern besteht, die gerne mit den Hunden arbeiten möchten. Damit die Hunde gesund und fit bleiben, brauchen sie eine gute Schutzanlage. Diese wurde nun mit der Zuwendung der SwissAfrican Foundation gebaut.

Das Projekt 'Congohounds' wird durch die DodoBahati Stiftung unter der Leitung von Dr. med. vet. Marlene Zähner geleitet und überwacht.

Der Zwinger von Rumangabo wurde fertig gestellt und die Gesundheit der Hunde hat sich stark verbessert. Eine schöne Rückmeldung!